Go Back   ZeldaPower Forums > General Area > General Gaming and Zelda

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:04 PM   #21
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

5026-4126-7902. Dallas, Texas. Someone better play me right now. Now.
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:07 PM   #22
Gatsby the Glorious
Suntory Time
Gold Legend
 
Gatsby the Glorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 10, 2007
Posts: 9,254
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

You're on.

And by that, I mean you should probably join the game that I started.
__________________

Last edited by Gatsby the Glorious; Mar. 10, 2008 at 01:13 PM.
Gatsby the Glorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:14 PM   #23
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Having issues connecting to the game, attempting to rectify the situation.
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:15 PM   #24
Tom
Triforce of Wisdom
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 18, 2007
Posts: 30,624
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

I had several problems last night, but I fixed it easy. Try just resetting your router, it worked for me.
Tom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:21 PM   #25
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

No dice. It gives me error code 86420, if that means anything to anyone. Nintendo's web-help just baffled the hell out of me. Face is really the guy in charge of internet connection related stuff, as he's the only one with the slightest clue what he's doing, but he's not in a position where I want to be anywhere near him right now, so if there's any chance for long distance help....
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:25 PM   #26
Tom
Triforce of Wisdom
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 18, 2007
Posts: 30,624
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Error Code: 86420
  • When does this error code appear?
  • Occurs Immediately: If the error code occurs immediately after selecting "With Anyone" from the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection, our servers may be experiencing a high amount of traffic. Please try to connect again later.
  • Occurs when looking for a match: If the error code occurs after the matchmaking process has started, it is likely an indication of NAT Negotiation problems. Try the connection again later. However, if the error still occurs regularly after matchmaking has been running, even for more than a minute, please read the following instructions:
    1. Do you receive this error every time the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection attempts to find a match for you?
      • If you receive this error every time, please proceed to step #2 on this page.
      • If you receive this error only when playing a particular friend, then it is likely a problem with the friend's firewall settings on their connection. If possible, ask your friend to try troubleshooting on this page.
      Note for users with Netgear brand routers: Your router may have a firewall that is preventing a successful connection with your opponents. For assistance with configuring the firewall, consult your owner's manual or contact Netgear directly. To disable the firewall*, locate the "WAN Setup" tab in the router settings and uncheck the box called, "enable SPI Firewall."
    2. In order to solve this problem, you may consider adjusting your router's Port Forwarding settings*. Each router is unique, so consult the owner's manual for your router or contact the manufacturer for specific information on working with your router's ports. For your information:
      • If you are prompted for a device or profile name, you can enter anything you like (such as Wii, etc.).
      • The starting port to open is 1, the ending port to open is 65535 (or as high as the router will allow).
      • Protocols will need to be set to UDP only.
      • Set the IP address for the ports to forward to the same as the Wii's static IP address. If you don't know what the Wii's IP address is, the best way to determine it is by performing a manual setup:
      How to manually configure the Wii's IP address:
      The first thing you'll need to do is find out what IP address range you should be using. To do this:
      1. Click the "Start" button in the lower left-hand corner of your computer.
      2. Next, you will need to access the command prompt. To do this:
        • Windows XP users click "Run."
        • Windows Vista users click inside the search bar.
      3. Type "cmd" into the box and press Enter.
      4. Type "IPCONFIG/ALL" and press Enter. The IP address, Subnet Mask, Default Gateway, and DNS servers of the PC will be displayed.
      The IP address you are going to assign to the Wii must be 10 digits higher than the PC's. (e.g., 192.168.1.100 becomes 192.168.1.110). The Wii and the PC must have different IP addresses. Make note of what IP address you will assign to the Wii. Enter in the exact same values for your Subnet Mask, Default Gateway, Primary DNS and Secondary DNS. They must be the same for your Wii console and for your PC.
      You will now need to manually assign this new IP address to your Wii console. For step-by-step instructions on how to do this, please click here.
      • After you perform the manual setup, the Wii will initiate a connection test. If the connection tests fails, then please review the values you entered. If you still cannot complete the manual setup, please give us a call at 1-800-255-3700 in the USA or Canada for assistance.
    3. Ensure your router has the latest firmware installed. Visit your router manufacturer?s website and look for any updated firmware that may be available (these are typically found under "downloads" or by searching for your particular model number).
    4. The error may be caused by a basic setting on the router that needs to be adjusted (such as the channel). Please review our general router troubleshooting.
    If you have tried all of the steps above with no success, please call 1-800-255-3700, so that we may assist you further. Our representatives are available between 6:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. Pacific Time, seven days a week.
    *While Nintendo provides this information for our consumers' use, it is up to each consumer to determine what security needs they have for their own networks, and to decide how best to configure their network settings to meet those needs.
Tom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:27 PM   #27
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triforce King View Post
Nintendo's web-help just baffled the hell out of me.
That baffling web-help? Yeah, that's that. I don't really know much about the connection stuff - like I said, I usually rely on Face for that.
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:29 PM   #28
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Hold up, just checked, and it looks like my router is Netgear, which had a special instruction in there, so maybe I can get this to work after all.
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:29 PM   #29
Tom
Triforce of Wisdom
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 18, 2007
Posts: 30,624
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Well, the basic jist is that the traffic is too heavy in your area and to just wait it out.

If you still can't connect after a long time, call your router's free tech support and learn how to decipher heavy accents.
Tom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:43 PM   #30
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Actually, it sounds like it might have been firewall related in the end. Face got tired of my bumbling around and ended up coming to my aid, so it could very well work now.
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:50 PM   #31
Gatsby the Glorious
Suntory Time
Gold Legend
 
Gatsby the Glorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 10, 2007
Posts: 9,254
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

And now you have no one to face because you took too long. D:
__________________
Gatsby the Glorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:51 PM   #32
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

It's not completely my fault.
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 01:52 PM   #33
Gatsby the Glorious
Suntory Time
Gold Legend
 
Gatsby the Glorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 10, 2007
Posts: 9,254
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

I can play now, I'm just waiting for some confirmation on something.

Just start the game up, no items, 3 stock imo. I'll be there soon.
__________________
Gatsby the Glorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 02:02 PM   #34
Tom
Triforce of Wisdom
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 18, 2007
Posts: 30,624
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

I'll be home in two and a half hours.

TK! It is then that you will know what pain is. Are you ready? ARE YOU READY? FOR THE PAIN? Because I bring it, brother! Ooooh YEAH!
Tom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 02:04 PM   #35
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Perhaps. I still don't know -for sure- if my connection's going to work. It should, but there's no certainty in life. Maybe I could test it if Gatsby actually showed up to the game he asked me to make, but then again, I'm just impatient.
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 02:07 PM   #36
Gatsby the Glorious
Suntory Time
Gold Legend
 
Gatsby the Glorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 10, 2007
Posts: 9,254
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

It won't let me join your game TK, still gotta work on that connection.

firecheetah- It's you who will be knowing pain, I've gotten way better with Snake.
__________________
Gatsby the Glorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 02:09 PM   #37
Tom
Triforce of Wisdom
 
Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May. 18, 2007
Posts: 30,624
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatsby View Post
firecheetah- It's you who will be knowing pain, I've gotten way better with Snake.
I WELCOME THE PAIN!!




And don't forget, if you're kicking my ass TOO bad, I can always bring out Mr. McCloud.

I was practicing with him a little more last night. Soon I'll be in shape with his new preformance.
Tom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 02:21 PM   #38
Triforce King
RoboMod Reloaded
moderator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Triforce King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov. 6, 2001
Location: Texas wins the race
Posts: 29,196
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Well, I'm baffled. I just can't figure my way around this. Here's hoping firecheetah was right when he said it's just that my area's getting too much traffic, but it's the middle of a Monday, so I'd think most players are at school or work.
__________________
Triforce King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 02:31 PM   #39
Kao
administrator
Platinum Triforce Legend
 
Kao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar. 21, 2000
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22,021
Send a message via AIM to Kao
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

Try buying the LAN adapter for the Wii if you don't already own it, and just running a cable to your Wii.. if that's physically possible with your setup.
Kao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar. 10, 2008, 02:32 PM   #40
Cooltrainer Tim ♂
wants to battle!
Gold Legend
 
Cooltrainer Tim ♂'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan. 16, 2003
Location: Believing in me who believes in you
Posts: 8,896
Send a message via AIM to Cooltrainer Tim ♂ Send a message via MSN to Cooltrainer Tim ♂ Send a message via Yahoo to Cooltrainer Tim ♂
Default Re: Super Smash Bros Brawl Friend Code thread.

I'm still ready to join any game. I'm on a Brawl streak today. >8[
__________________

Cooltrainer Tim ♂ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 1999 - 2011 ZeldaPower.com